you're reading...
living

hold the pork

Just as I posted my previous blog entry, Priority Assistance Development Fund: What Assistance? What Priority?, I saw an article posted on my Facebook feed an article by Rappler that says PNoy puts release of pork on hold until probe ends.

a photo meme I found on Facebook credited to When In Manila that justifies my distrust and anger with government officials

a photo meme I found on Facebook credited to When In Manila that justifies my distrust and anger with government officials

I suppose I should be happy because that’s what I was asking, but not really; I was asking for the abolishment of pork. So what? They put the funds in savings while the city goes underwater? While that money can go straight into developing housing for the underprivileged and disenfranchised; while the money can go to improving educational facilities and government-run hospitals; while the money can be used to raise the salaries of public school teachers and healthcare workers; while the money can be used to improve infrastructure and deal with the flooding problems, it seems the money, instead, will be put into savings until the probe ends.

They are just waiting for a go-signal before they can have access to it again. I’m sorry for being so paranoid and cynical and pessimistic. But I think I earned that right.

After all, 180 congressmen and 12 senators were tagged by the report of the Commission on Audit as having dubious transactions with their pork barrel. 192 elected government officials have suspicious activity with regards to their pork barrel funds.

That’s a great reason as to why I don’t trust them anymore.

Even the president himself has been tagged with a 40 million peso anomaly of his pork barrel fund expenditures when he was a congressman.

They should start with him, if you ask me. Probe him. And leave no stone unturned.

For a list of the 180 congressmen and 12 senators who have been tagged by the CoA report, check out Inquirer‘s article Why Congress won’t act on call for pork scam probe.

You tell me: why would we still want them in power now that we know they have no accountability for what they’ve done with our money?

About wanggo

I have a tendency to gush and I have a tendency to be nit-picky over things. Always in the extreme, always at first gear or fifth. Poetry, literature, writing, movies, television shows, music, dance, visual arts, humour, comedy, really deep thoughts, not so very deep thoughts, human behaviour, stories, absurdity. Living with HIV and hoping nobody else gets it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

