you're reading...
poetry

Topography

The bridge of your nose;

your hair in the 2pm afternoon sun;

your calves, as they tense up

when you climb the stairs;

your jawline when you read

anything political;

that muscular line

right on your pelvis,

below the abdominals;

these are familiar landmarks

where my eyes take refuge

when the day gets too heavy.

 

I can’t get lost

in the geography of your body.

I know the back of your hand

better than I know mine.

 

It’s all mapped out in my mind

and I go there

when I want to be lost

in something familiar.

 

About wanggo

I have a tendency to gush and I have a tendency to be nit-picky over things. Always in the extreme, always at first gear or fifth. Poetry, literature, writing, movies, television shows, music, dance, visual arts, humour, comedy, really deep thoughts, not so very deep thoughts, human behaviour, stories, absurdity. Living with HIV and hoping nobody else gets it.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Topography

  1. this is so unique and well-written :D

    Posted by shreebhattessa | April 14, 2014, 11:19 pm
    • Thank you so much. I feel like I lost my thought halfway through and it just falls apart. I want to come back to it at a later time to improve it.

      It was so clear in my head when I began writing it and then it kind of just fizzled…

      But thank you! It encourages me to work on it some more. :D

      Posted by wanggo | April 14, 2014, 11:21 pm
      • sometimes, I feel, incoherence is good. It kind of resembles the way we think.

        Posted by shreebhattessa | April 14, 2014, 11:23 pm
      • Yes, I agree with you, but this one had a specific message that I feel did not succeed in coming across. It wasn’t my intention to be and if I’m to become better as a poet, I have to be able to achieve what I set out to do.

        Sorry, I’m very hard on myself. But I have to be if I want to be good.

        But I like incoherence too. I have another poem, an older one, where it was meant to be incoherent and that was the intention and it came out rather successful, I think. :D

        Posted by wanggo | April 14, 2014, 11:26 pm
      • cool. is it on your blog?

        Posted by shreebhattessa | April 14, 2014, 11:55 pm
      • Yup: Check it out here: http://wanggo.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/get-some-sleep/

        And right below my Header, there’s a category of links and you can click “Poetry” if you just want to read the poems. :D

        Posted by wanggo | April 15, 2014, 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

